italia0

Just another WordPress.com site

Intimate Partner Violence April 27, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluntf @ 10:25 pm

WHEN THE MAN IS THE VICTIM OF ABUSE

Image source: http://goodmenproject.com/newsroom/james-dean-among-male-victims-of-abuse/

In today’s society we generally hear, read and focus on intimate partner violence when the women is a victim.  Many of us never think that a man can also be a victim.  The abuse rates on men being the victim is currently on the rise.

The article that I chose  describes that women are not the only victims in relationship abuse.  For many women’s activist they believe that the man causes the abuse.  In the article, “Characteristics of Callers to the Domestic Abuse Helpline for Men”, displayed in a study that men are victims more than we think.  Female abusers perform the exact same physical and emotional abuse on their partners.  The study displayed that violence is a human problem not a problem due to gender.  It might be difficult to believe but, many man who have attempted to seek help for intimate partner abuse have not been taken seriously.

http://ezproxy.umuc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=pbh&AN=24090961&login.asp&site=ehost-live&scope=site

I chose this video because it clearly displays intimate partner violence on a male.  In the text, “Heavy Hands” it states that African American men are more likely to be victims in comparison to all the other races.  The concept from the text “Heavy Hands” clearly displays that a man is more than likely to not report the abuse.   Their pride and masculine traits forces them to keep the abuse to themselves.

ABUSIVE  WOMEN. (2010, April 23). [Video]. Retrieved from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdC0a_agt0E

This is a link for victims who need help http://dahmw.org/

The Domestic Abuse Helpline for Men and Women is an organization that provides assistance to victims of domestic violence and their families.  They offer services such as counseling, educational, support groups, emergency shelter and a 24 hour help line.  They focus on spreading their knowledge on abuse prevention, elimination and increase public awareness.

I chose this specific organization because they have all of the elements to prevent, educate and assist victims of domestic violence abuse.  I also liked that the name of the organization specified both genders which would make men who are being abused more comfortable to speak with someone about their situation.  It also has the appropriate professionals who are able to help victims.  They also provide referrals to other facilities to assist victims if they are unable to help.

Domestic Abuse Helpline for Men and Women. (n.d.). Overview. Retrieved from http://dahmw.org/

Push”

She said I don’t know if I’ve ever been good enough
I’m a little bit rusty, and I think my head is caving in
And I don’t know if I’ve ever been really loved
By a hand that’s touched me, well I feel like something’s
Gonna give
And I’m a little bit angry, well

This ain’t over, no not here, not while I still need you
Around
You don’t owe me, we might change
Yeah we just might feel good

I wanna push you around, well I will, I will
I wanna push you down, well I will, I will
I wanna take you for granted, I wanna take you for granted
Well I will

She said I don’t know why you ever would lie to me
Like I’m a little untrusting when I think that the truth is
Gonna hurt ya
And I don’t know why you couldn’t just stay with me
You couldn’t stand to be near me
When my face don’t seem to want to shine
Cuz it’s a little bit dirty well

Don’t just stand there, say nice things to me
I’ve been cheated I’ve been wronged, and you
You don’t know me, I can’t change
I won’t do anything at all

Oh but don’t bowl me over
Just wait a minute well it kinda fell apart, things get so
Crazy, crazy
Don’t rush this baby, don’t rush this baby

Thomas, R., Cook, K., Doucette, P., Yale, B., MacMillan, B., (1997). “Push.” Retrieved from http://http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/matchbox20/push.html

An emerging issue that we are currently facing is intimate partner violence on same sex relationships.  Since, same sex relationships are becoming more prominent in today’s society many of us would never think that violence would be an issue.  Unfortunately, the lack of educating and advertising causes us to turn a blind eye on violence in same sex relationships.  Shelters for abused victims in same sex relationships are on the rise.  The following establishments have been put in place to assist victims of same sex relationships Northwest Network for Bi, Trans, Lesbian, and Gay Survivors of Abuse, The Queer Asian Women’s Shelter and Survivor Project.  These foundations help educate and counsel victims of abuse.  They teach them on how to form healthy relationships and recover from abuse.

Regardless of same or opposite sex relationships, violence will continue to occur if we continue to ignore it.

Hines, D. (2007). Characteristics of Callers to the Domestic Abuse Helpline for Men. Journal Of Family Violence22(2), 63-72.

Gosselin, D.(2010). Heavy Hands An Introduction to the crimes of Family Violence. New Jersey: Pearson Education.

 

Leave a Reply

