italia0

Just another WordPress.com site

Bio April 5, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluntf @ 7:44 pm

My name is Fareiza and I currently live in Northern Italy with my husband.  I have lived here for over 3 years.  I am majoring in Psychology and minoring in Biology.  I love science and how the body works.  I love to travel, cook and exercise.  I have been fortunate to travel all over the world with the exception of Africa and Antarctica.  I am a marathon runner and I believe that fitness is very important in everyones lives.  I love the sunshine and spend every weekend that I am not working at the beach.

“Domestic violence is America’s hidden war and the battleground is in all our homes”

Image Source:http://cdn2.mog.com/images/000033981221144319.gif

Domestic violence is an issue that we face as a nation.  Regardless, if the victim is male, female, adult or child it is an issue that we should educate people on how to prevent or overcome.  I have taken an interest in this subject because I would like to assist others in how to avoid getting themselves in a negative relationship or help them overcome the after affects of domestic violence. 

Bussolotti, M. (n.d.). [Quotation]. Retrieved from http://thinkexist.com/quotation/domestic-violence-is-america-s-hidden-war-and-the/1138113.html

CHILD ABUSE

Image source:http://thequietvoice18.wordpress.com/2011/08/07/child-abuse-and-depression/

Did you know that more than 5 children die daily from child abuse?  Child abuse is an epidemic that we are currently facing.  There are four categories of child abuse which are emotional/psychological, physical, sexual and neglect.

In the article “Identifying Child Abuse” over 3.3 million children were abused in 2009.  Of the 3.3 million reported which involved over 6 million children 62% required immediate action.  The article assist the reader in identifying the most common symptoms and excuses in victims.

When identifying child abuse there are many indications that can determine abuse.  The difficult part is distinguishing the difference between abuse, normal play and a medical disorder.

According to the article, there are certain excuses that children use to cover up the abuse.  Some of those excuses are “I don’t know what happened” and “I fell”.  Many also blame bruising on rough play.

I chose this article because as an adult and outsider I believe it is important for me to recognize any symptoms that display child abuse.

http://ezproxy.umuc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=73999996&site=eds-live&scope=site

I chose this video for several reasons.  The first was the children who appeared which some were normal and some were abused.  The second was the song.  The words were describing the emotions of the child.  The third reason was that the video displayed abuse in more than one aspect.  This video summed up child abuse from a victim’s view.

CHILD ABUSE. (2012, April 23). [Video]. Retrieved from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P9njhcQUlXc

You can get help 24 hours a day from this organization:

http://www.childhelp.org/

Childhelp.org is an organization that helps meet the physical, emotional, educational needs of abused and neglected children.  The primary focus is prevention, treatment, advocacy and community outreach.  They offer a variety of programs which are a community center, group homes, residential treatment facilities, advocacy centers and educating children on prevention of abuse.

I chose this organization because the crisis hotline option caught my attention.  The idea of having a certified counselor that is available to speak with at any time is important.  The second reason I chose this organization is the programs that they offer.  I believe they offer a program for everyone no matter what dynamic of their situation they were currently experiencing.

When the general population think of child abuse, we tend to only be concern about the physical portion.  We never take in consideration about the emotional abuse that a child suffers.  The song lyrics below reminds me that abuse is not only physical but, emotional.  It also reminds me of the way a victim can feel after being emotionally abused.

Loser (3 Doors Down)

Breathe in right away.

Nothing seems to fill this place.

I need this everytime

So take your lies, get off my case.

Someday I will find

A love that flows through me like this

This will fall away, this will fall away.

You’re getting closer

To pushing me off of life’s little edge

‘Cause I’m a loser

And sooner or later you know I’ll be dead

You’re getting closer

You’re holding the rope and I’m taking the fall

‘Cause I’m a loser, I’m a loser, yeah.

This is getting old.

I can’t break these chains that I hold

My body’s growing cold

There’s nothing left of this mind or my soul.

Addiction needs a pacifier, the buzz of this poison is taking me higher.

This will fall away, this will fall away.

Arnold, B., Roberts, M., Harrell, T., Henderson, C.,(2000). “Loser.” Retrieved from http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/3doorsdown/loser.html

We live in a military community and majority of us have been through the stress of a few deployments.  An emerging issue that our military families are currently facing is the increased amount of cases in child abuse/neglect.  Abuse is occurring because at a moments notice a dual parent household becomes a one parent house hold.  This affects the normal daily routine for the single parent and the child/children.  According to research, when frequent deployments began to occur the rate of abuse increased from 5 to 10 out of 1000 families.  Maltreated children increased 30% when parents were call to active duty and deploy.  The military is constantly creating ideas which allows the single parent who is left behind time alone by offering free child care once a month.  Dealing with deployments is the biggest burden on military families.

Child Help Organization. (1959). Overview. Retrieved from http://www.childhelp.org/

Gill, D. F. (2012). Identifying Child Abuse. Clinician Reviews22(3), 29-36.

WHEN THE MAN IS THE VICTIM OF ABUSE

Image source: http://goodmenproject.com/newsroom/james-dean-among-male-victims-of-abuse/

In today’s society we generally hear, read and focus on intimate partner violence when the women is a victim.  Many of us never think that a man can also be a victim.  The abuse rates on men being the victim is currently on the rise.

The article that I chose  describes that women are not the only victims in relationship abuse.  For many women’s activist they believe that the man causes the abuse.  In the article, “Characteristics of Callers to the Domestic Abuse Helpline for Men”, displayed in a study that men are victims more than we think.  Female abusers perform the exact same physical and emotional abuse on their partners.  The study displayed that violence is a human problem not a problem due to gender.  It might be difficult to believe but, many man who have attempted to seek help for intimate partner abuse have not been taken seriously.

http://ezproxy.umuc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=pbh&AN=24090961&login.asp&site=ehost-live&scope=site

I chose this video because it clearly displays intimate partner violence on a male.  In the text, “Heavy Hands” it states that African American men are more likely to be victims in comparison to all the other races.  The concept from the text “Heavy Hands” clearly displays that a man is more than likely to not report the abuse.   Their pride and masculine traits forces them to keep the abuse to themselves.

ABUSIVE  WOMEN. (2010, April 23). [Video]. Retrieved from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdC0a_agt0E

This is a link for victims who need help http://dahmw.org/

The Domestic Abuse Helpline for Men and Women is an organization that provides assistance to victims of domestic violence and their families.  They offer services such as counseling, educational, support groups, emergency shelter and a 24 hour help line.  They focus on spreading their knowledge on abuse prevention, elimination and increase public awareness.

I chose this specific organization because they have all of the elements to prevent, educate and assist victims of domestic violence abuse.  I also liked that the name of the organization specified both genders which would make men who are being abused more comfortable to speak with someone about their situation.  It also has the appropriate professionals who are able to help victims.  They also provide referrals to other facilities to assist victims if they are unable to help.

Domestic Abuse Helpline for Men and Women. (n.d.). Overview. Retrieved from http://dahmw.org/

“Push”

She said I don’t know if I’ve ever been good enough

I’m a little bit rusty, and I think my head is caving in

And I don’t know if I’ve ever been really loved

By a hand that’s touched me, well I feel like something’s

Gonna give

And I’m a little bit angry, well

This ain’t over, no not here, not while I still need you

Around

You don’t owe me, we might change

Yeah we just might feel good

I wanna push you around, well I will, I will

I wanna push you down, well I will, I will

I wanna take you for granted, I wanna take you for granted

Well I will

She said I don’t know why you ever would lie to me

Like I’m a little untrusting when I think that the truth is

Gonna hurt ya

And I don’t know why you couldn’t just stay with me

You couldn’t stand to be near me

When my face don’t seem to want to shine

Cuz it’s a little bit dirty well

Don’t just stand there, say nice things to me

I’ve been cheated I’ve been wronged, and you

You don’t know me, I can’t change

I won’t do anything at all

Oh but don’t bowl me over

Just wait a minute well it kinda fell apart, things get so

Crazy, crazy

Don’t rush this baby, don’t rush this baby

Thomas, R., Cook, K., Doucette, P., Yale, B., MacMillan, B., (1997). “Push.” Retrieved from http://http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/matchbox20/push.html

An emerging issue that we are currently facing is intimate partner violence on same sex relationships.  Since, same sex relationships are becoming more prominent in today’s society many of us would never think that violence would be an issue.  Unfortunately, the lack of educating and advertising causes us to turn a blind eye on violence in same sex relationships.  Shelters for abused victims in same sex relationships are on the rise.  The following establishments have been put in place to assist victims of same sex relationships Northwest Network for Bi, Trans, Lesbian, and Gay Survivors of Abuse, The Queer Asian Women’s Shelter and Survivor Project.  These foundations help educate and counsel victims of abuse.  They teach them on how to form healthy relationships and recover from abuse.

http://www.mincava.umn.edu/documents/lgbtqviolence/lgbtqviolence.html

Regardless of same or opposite sex relationships, violence will continue to occur if we continue to ignore it.

Hines, D. (2007). Characteristics of Callers to the Domestic Abuse Helpline for Men. Journal Of Family Violence22(2), 63-72.

Gosselin, D.(2010). Heavy Hands An Introduction to the crimes of Family Violence. New Jersey: Pearson Education.

 

Leave a Reply

